openstack volume snapshots and deleting

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

openstack volume snapshots and deleting

Ratliff, John

If I create a volume, snapshot it, and create a new volume from that snapshot, I cannot seem to delete the snapshot until the volume is deleted. Is this intentional, or am I doing something wrong? Is the new volume based on the snapshot, and that’s why I can’t delete it? We’re using CEPH as a storage backend if that makes a difference.

 

openstack volume snapshot create –volume base-volume base-ss

openstack volume create –snapshot base-ss new-volume

openstack volume snapshot delete base-ss

 

The last command is the one that fails. It gives no error message. It just doesn’t actually delete  the snapshot. But If I do this:

 

openstack volume delete new-volume

openstack volume snapshot delete base-ss

 

Then it works.

 

I also  tried creating a snapshot, creating a volume from the snapshot, then creating a volume from that volume, but I still cannot delete the snapshot until both volumes are deleted.

 

I do not want everlasting snapshots, so I hope I’m doing something wrong that someone can point out. Thanks.

 

--John

 


_______________________________________________
Community mailing list
[hidden email]
http://lists.openstack.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/community

smime.p7s (7K) Download Attachment